Cat Person

by Jinryu

I never had pets growing up. Well, unless you count goldfish.

And that’s all quite ironic, considering that one of my best first jobs as a teenager was in a petshop that one of my uncles managed. I always got to see all the animals, but I don’t think I’d rightly ever picked up a puppy before in my life.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-

When I met [CM] and things started getting serious, we talked about getting dogs. We always wanted to get a pair of dachshunds, and we’d name them after one of the street corners in Montreal where we used to meet up for dates– “Drummond” and “Sherebroke”.

We never did end up getting dogs. I thought I was a “dog person”, without really having a reference point except for Hollywood movies.

When we moved to Australia together, we lived in apartments for a long time, and we’d probably have to move every couple of years depending on what hospital she was assigned to work at. Our lives were getting increasingly busy as we were getting to the end of university, and we’d need to start looking for full-time work.

Dogs just weren’t the responsible choice– we wouldn’t be able to walk them daily, and our apartments would probably be too small for it to really have fun.

So we got cats.

 

And that’s the how the story of me becoming a cat person begins.