Old Habits

by Jinryu

So much news since I last wrote.

***

[CM] and I bought a house. It’s nice. The cats love it.

It is a bit difficult at times because, as a habit, we usually try and locate each of our cats before leaving home. With a whole townhouse though, there are a hundred places they could be hiding, so sometimes that takes a fair amount of time.

First world problems.

***

The Sydney wedding is coming up– one month from today actually. We have family coming in from all over the place, and [Zanshin] is even flying in from Montreal.

The Montreal wedding is going to be a few days later. Yes, we are flying to Montreal for a second wedding, just days after our Sydney wedding.

It’s going to be a crazy and very tiring process, but we do want to be able to reach the people who can’t make it to Sydney.

***

CM has been filling out applications for Basic Physicians Training, which is what you need to do progress to the next stage of being a medical doctor in Australia. She’s stressed out about the whole process– she has 3 interviews, but they’re not her 1st or 2nd choice hospitals. It’s a bit tough because, frankly, there’s only so much I can do in these situations.

***

[Bucky] resigned from her solicitor’s role at the firm about a month ago, and it’s really becoming apparent now that the adult world involves a lot of work. If you want numbers, I guess you could say I’m doing about double the legal work I used to do before she quit.

It hasn’t been easy. I’ve been regularly working from 8AM until about 7PM, and this has been happening for about a week and a half now. Throughout the day, this isn’t easy work either– it’s ground level documents drafting that takes a hella lot of processing power. By the time I am done work, I’m absolutely exhausted.

Cracks are starting to show. I am, frankly, overworked, and I’m starting to make mistakes and the quality of my work is dropping. Not much I can do about that though except weather the storm.

***

My leg is better now, but I’m not in condition to be training. I haven’t done judo in about 3 months now.

***

I’m teaching criminal justice again at a university law school– one day per week that I’m not at the law firm, I teach 2nd semester law students. It’s probably the most fun I have in a week, because working with the next generation just puts me a bit more at ease. The hours and the pay are good as well.

