Those who fight

by Jinryu

Yesterday evening, [CM] and I went to a concert. The band was a small selection of the Sydney Metropolitain Orchestra, plus a guest pianist from Germany. The conductor was a known violinist, who happens to be on tour.

The event was Final Fantasy “New Worlds” selection– which is to say, various piecies of orchestral and string-quartet arrangements from the last near-30 years of Final Fantasy games, I through to XIV.

There were a few songs that I didn’t know– I never had a dedicated internet connection back in the days and I haven’t recently had the time to go online and keep up, so I never played Final Fantasy XI and only touched on XIV for a little while. But the rest of the time, the songs were great.

Yeah, the orchestra was a bit small– but it didn’t matter so much because my nostaligia filled in all the gaps.

I’ve said this before, but I can trace a lot of my memories of my youth in time with the music I heard in videogames at the time.  “Battle music” especially tends to stick in a gamer’s head, because one is grinding through the battles, it goes from just background ambiance to the medium in which  you grew up– to the thousands of FF fans at the concert last night, I’m sure the feeling was shared.

In some way or another, anyone who came to this concert had something in common– we were heroes from the same wars. We had struggled. We had gnashed our teeth. We had watched loved ones die. We had fought to protect, and sometimes failed. But at times, we had delivered. We had pushed back evil. We had pulled off that underdog save– and we had celebrated together.

And there was music.

I found that as songs came and went, they started triggering memories of those battles and how much time I spent on them.

My father in law was saying that he didn’t understand gaming. The fact that that CM and I game is something that few people of his generation would appreciate– and though this is changing for the current generation, including our own, there are still a lot of people who turn their minds away from the art of it all.

That’s okay– but if you watched the crowd as much as you did the band at this event, you’d understand that here was something powerful binding all these people.

