The weight of Legacy

by Jinryu

I wasn’t in the very very first generation of videogamers. By that, I mean that I wasn’t a child who grew up in arcades where you could play Space Invaders or, even a few years after that, the original Donkey Kong games.

But I did grow up on the end life of a Commodore 64, Nintendo, and spent my formative years on a PSX. Aside from the PSX, I’ve owned a PSOne, a couple of Playstation 2s, a Playstation 3, an Xbox 360, a Wii, a Nintendo DS, and a Nintendo 3Ds– just to say that I’ve played quite a bit, and quite consistently over the last couple of decades. Here and there I’ve also been a bit of a PC gamer.

Before I ever even considered starting out in martial arts, I was long before then a gamer.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-

There are a lot of huge serieses that have come and gone over the years, and every now and then I look back and consider the effect that the nostalgia has on my continued purchase of new games in the series. Am I getting what I wanted? Am I romanticising and making those old games and old experiences better than they were? And are game developers now coming to that same situation as literary and comic book writers– where central themes and mechanisms have been exhausted, and we’re left with  putting together combinations of tropes?

 

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Since December 2015, the games that I’ve been picked up include:

  • Halo 5: Guardians (finished)
  • Fallout 4 (started, but resold before finishing)
  • Walking Dead Season Two (started, but currently playing)
  • Valliant Hearts (currently playing with [CM])
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider (currently playing)

As a placeholder to myself, these are the games that I’ll be reviewing over the next few weeks.

