Execution

by Jinryu

I was told, via facebook message a couple of days ago, that a cousin of mine who lives in the Philippines had been shot. Point blank, back of the head, as he was closing shop. No idea who did it, or why.

Relatives from Phillippines sent me pictures (from 3 different angles) of my cousin lying face down in his own blood on the asphalt. I thought it was a strange thing to do. I’m not squeamish about it– blood doesn’t scare me in the slightest (although the fact that I wasn’t squemish about it, considering how much of the blood there was, was in itself a bit metadisturbing I thought). I didn’t know him all that well, so I guess I don’t personally feel that much loss to be frank. I was just… surprised. One: at the sharing of such graphic images in Facebook messenger.

Two: at the lack of meaning behind the event generally.

What wasn’t a surprise was my immediate reaction, which is that I would never want to live in the Philippines.

