Jobber

by Jinryu

It’s sunday evening in Australia and things are going good.  Life in general I mean is just going really so much better than a month ago.  That probably explains why I haven’t been blogging as much as I usually do unfortunately, because I’m to busy doing things to sit down and write.

 

-=-=-=-=-=-=-

The only problem is that my current work schedule makes it almost impossible for me to do any judo.  I guess that’s not a terrible thing since my left knee is still a bit crook, but it would be nice to get some consistent exercise in somehow. I think maybe once my contract with the new job is over and I settle in as a solicitor, I’ll start biking to the CBD everyday to shed the pounds.

 

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

 

I don’t know if I mentioned this, but my boss at the firm basically offered me a permanent position.  After I’m qualified as a solicitor in about October, I’ll have a solicitor’s position waiting for me.  That’s basically all that I needed– I needed a professional means of supporting myself.  Spending over $100k on a law degree means that I need a lawyer’s job to pay off my debts, as well as finally start getting to the family stuff that I’ve always wanted to with [CM].

The employment law firm I work at is great.  The boss is really open with us, and I feel that there’s an opportunity to talk about everything and anything (when time permits anyhow).  This means that I have really flexible work arrangements– convenient for someone who is partnered to a  med student.  It means that I can head to work whenever I want (I have the keys) and log in my 7 or so hours.  I can flex it mostly.

I’m at a point in my life where the quality of the work and the work environment is more impoartant to me than the pay, so I really lucked out in nailing this job.  Looking back at the posts from 6 months ago when I first started working here, there was a lot of apprehensiveness in my life about not knowing where this work would lead, and if spending all my time at a small firm as a paralegal might be a bad career move.  TUrns out that it paid off to spend the time here, actively engaging and helping to build up the practice.

 

I was told last week that I should start having a think of the terms to put in my employment contract.  I mean, as an employment law paralegal who is going to be a fully fledged trainee solicitor in a few months, I guess writing my own employment contract is a pretty good way to start?

 

-=-=-=-=-=-

 

The timing of it all is a bit strange, but I guess I can’t complain too much.  My boss at the employment law firm basically told me that she wanted me on the team permanently– but basically, this offer came after I accepted a 3-day per week job at the educational institution in the CEO’s personal assistant role.  I guess basically there were a lot of assumptions made on both our parts– I assumed that the frim was too small to hire me, and the boss assumed that I knew that there was a spot for me.  So it was only after I told her that I was reducing my availability to 2 days per week because of a 3 month project with the educational institution that I guess it was a bit of a wake up call for us to make formal communications.

Until now, I have been a casual worker– which in Australian terms means that you can be basically terminated without any notice.  We had an agreement that I would be working at least 2 days per week, which is why I signed on for 3 months of 3 days per week with the educaitonal institute.

 

Anyway, the work for the educational institute is interesting stuff– well, at least I hope it will be. I start my first day tomorrow.

 

Tonight, I’ll have to read up on teh company– I’ve got a binder of literally over 200 pages of annual reports, project outlines, and all sorts of other business-y things that I don’t eve know what they are– I’m not a commercially trained person after all.  And that’s the whole point of this experience.

 

More on this after I’ve worked a few days there.

