Dictation

by Jinryu

As a side note, the last 5 posts that I did we’re all done by dictation. Now that I’m not going to school for classes anymore, I don’t often have access to a full computer with a full-sized keyboard and a comfy chair. And I don’t like typing for extended periods of time on my netbook.

  as a result, the style of my “writing” will have changed a little bit. I’m now using my android phone with voice recognition to basically type down while I dictate what it is that I want to post. Apologies for the typos.

I thought that I would start typing again when given the chance, but on the other hand, this might be an interesting kind of thought experiment. It’s going to change the way that I post because now everything that comes up is going to be more stream of consciousness. Things will be less edited, possibly less grammatically correct, and will definitely do tend to meander lot more in terms of structure and flow of what it is that I’m trying to say. But maybe this is a good thing? It might actually help me to improve my conversational skills in the sense that I’ll be able to speak more effectively in practice by getting into the habit of structuring my ideas more clearly on the fly.

I’ll keep going like this for a few more weeks just to try it out for at least a while and see how I feel about west recognition in general. In case you’re wondering, I’m using an Android Nexus 4. Android voice recognition has come a long way since its humble beginnings, and almost matches up to the iOS voice recognition. Series just got a little bit of an edge over Google Play in general, but who knows. Things are getting better pretty quickly.

I was looking online for certain commands like how to start a new paragraph, Or how to add quotation marks and parentheses. Documentation is almost non-existent, so that’s a bit annoying.

I end up looking through some android forums, with people asking the exact same questions as I am, and that leads me to another observation. Forms online are still the same as they were about 10 or 20 years ago. Back then I used to go on forums for martial arts related things, and they’re always the trolls and the people who just say meaningless things that have nothing to do with the original posters question. For instance in this case, the poster was asking if there are special commands to start a new paragraph or how to add certain punctuation marks. What do the posters respond? I like using keyboards better. Gee thanks guy. Thanks for nothing.

