Physiotherapy

by Jinryu

I went to my second physiotherapy session in the area, and I’m pretty happy with the results.

My right shoulder has been doing much better.  That’s the physio’s evaluation, but I agree– I’ve regained a lot of the strength that I lost when I hurt it about a month ago.  The rotator cuff seems to gradually be sewing itself back together, and my strength is coming back.

 

I asked him about my knee (right knee– the left knee will be covered in a later session, since the right is the more painful one).  He figures it’s not actually a miniscus tear, but a bursitis somewhere behind my kneecap, and an overly tight IB.  To test his theory out, we did something to loosen up my IB– and impressively enough, I was able to use that knee with a fair amount of more confidence and with less pain than I did just before the exercise.

 

On the whole, I’m pretty happy with this phsiotherapist.  I’ve been to physio in the past, and they’ve all left me with a rather bad impression on two fronts.  First of all, I didn’t get any results, probably because I was misdiagnosed, but who knows.  This speaks of their basic competency or thoroughness.  Secondly, my previous physiotherapists didn’t involve me in the rehabilitation processes.  They basically told me to keep coming back, but I barely had any “homework,” time wasn’t taken to explain to me my homework, and they didn’t take the time to explain the underlying damaged structures.  Basically, they treated themselves as a pitstop for my body, without really taking up any sort of educational role towards my self-management of my problems.

 

Considering that physio costs upwards of 75$ per session, of which only about 40% is covered by my insurance, I want to get something out of my physio other than a massage and a “see you next week!” 

I want to be paying for education and empowerment, so that I can take charge and get my life back from my injuries.  And that’s what this physio, among other physios, is finally doing right.

 

