Persistent Headache

by Jinryu

I got an email back from the National Children’s and Youth Law Centre, which is part of the Redfern Legal Centre. Interview! It’s for a upaid work, and it doesn’t count as an internship. Nonetheless, these spots are usually reserved for final year law students, so its a lucky break on my part. They one out of three community legal centres that actually took the time to write me back anything substantial out of the twenty or so that I’ve applied to for summer volunteering. Needless to say, when they asked if I was free for an interview tomorrow, I agreed. The timing is pretty bad considering that this period time, especially today and tomorrow, are like the last days at the Alamo, but like I said– these sorts of invites are pretty damn rare. It’s kinda like running outside the walls to see if that parachute drop is full of bazookas. That might change everything. Not that getting a volunteer job makes my life any easier for exams– but it does make things easier in the long run.

I have this persistent headache going on. It’s not a huge thing, but it’s kind of been hanging around since after the Contracts exam. Unfortunately, there’s so much work to be done that I’m not certain how much rest time I can afford it.

I’m trying really hard not to burn out. I wouldn’t normally notice something like that in myself, I’d probably chalk it up to just being productive normally, but I remember [Zanshin] taking a look at me once and just making a sweeping comment about my life, which is that I have this bad habit of biting off more than I can chew. I don’t know if I’m choking yet, but I could certainly use some water.

Some random other news:
A pair of Audio Technica headphones that I bought in Korea broke down. That made me surprisingly sad. My dad bought a pair of JBLs for himself when he was in his 20s, and they lasted for over 20 years. Mine lasted about 3-4 years… so I guess they don’t build things the way they used to. But I always liked the idea of buying things that would really, really last for a long time, something that I would have a lot of history with. I’m not someone who is very sentimental about material posessions, but my ATs were part of my SK days. I used to wear them while walking the city streets, to the tune of James Brown or Led Zepplin. I am sad to throw them out, but if it makes it any easier, the fact that they don’t work well anymore makes me feel betrayed enough that I can throw them out, slightly pissed and disgusted. It’s always easier to gloss over emotional loss with rage.

I recently bought a violin. No, I don’t know how to play it. I bought it second hand off a classmate, who was getting rid of all his stuff. He had to leave the country on emergency family business just before this exam period started (so, he’s unable to finish the semester). I haven’t taken the time to make many friends in Australia, not close ones anyways. But in this case, I feel like I traded a violin for a friend somehow.

It might sound like I’m low on morale, but I’m actually feeling pretty neutral right now.

