Clockspeed

by Jinryu

So, in the last two weeks, I won two elections: you’re looking at the new JD Student Representative on the UNSW Faculty Board, as well as the president of the Go/Baduk/Weiqi Club. I’ve got big plans for the baduk club– however, I have no clue how to do the student rep job. Well, I guess time will tell! I’ll eventually find out just how things work because by January, I’ll be plunged headfirst into things.

Yesterday was the last day of classes for the first semester. It’s been a very interesting experience– I feel as if I’m making up for lost time or something. I did all the goofing off when I was in CEGEP and during my undergrad, so I never really got into the whole thing of working hard and scrimping and saving for grades in class. Now, I’m doing just that. It stressed me out sometimes, in the bad sorta way, but I’m learning to find a balance I think.

I recently got a job working part time for Fairfax media. I don’t know much about the company but when I tell my classmates about it, they all gasp and point at me, because apparently its like I’m helping plan the incineration of Alderraan or something. I work at a cubicle that sits as one of a hive of 50 rows and 50 columns of other cubicles. If I thought that the office metaphors to Dilbert were apt when I was in government beaureucracy, it’s an even stranger experience when you work in the private sector. In any case, it’s embarassing to say, but this job takes about 10% of the brain power that the hospital work did, and it pays about 50% more… so, despite that it’s mind numbingly boring, for the time being it gives [CM] and I a lot more leeway to live comfortably despite our sob starving student stories.

Every now and then the work really catches up to me and I feel the world coming down. It makes me feel bad at times because I worry CM when that happens. I guess I’m pretty insufferable when I’m in a bad mood about something– I’m told it’s a pretty huge 180 from what I’m usually like. But despite it, she sticks with me. I don’t think I could have done all of this without her.

One of my tutors, who is also an international student, pointed out that being in lawschool isn’t just about smarts– it’s about managing your life. He’s right. It’s not just about getting good grades. It’s about loving life and finding ways to balance all the work with the point of all the work we do. It’s not just about stressing– it’s about fighting for the things that matter, but not getting so obsessed about the fighting that you take the time to enjoy the things that you’ve fought for.

CM and I went out to have dinner at an all you can eat sushi place last night. We haven’t had all you can eat anything since she left Montreal. It’s still one of those highlights of life for me to plan my sushi-attack strategy with her so that we can pack down as much as we can.

