Weigh in.

by Jinryu

In one situation, it’s 3 inches forward, 2 inches backwards– that would be my belt size.

I’ve found that as I age I’m gaining weight more permanently. I was talking to [Terminator] about this a week ago. When we were in our MAC days back in College, about 5-6 years ago, and we were competing in kickboxing tournaments together, he weighed in at about 145 pounds and I weighed in at about 120 or so. And, back then, we in excellent conditioning– we would be training about 3 times a week in sparring and at least 3 times a week for resistence training. Pretty lean.

Nowadays, he weighs in at about 185 pounds, and I weigh about 165.

My weight has fluctuated quite a bit in the past few months. I think a large part of it is because after [CM] left Montreal, I kind of put my life on ‘pause’ or somethiing. I never consistently maintained any hobbies, much less exercise. I started working a lot more, something like 50 hours per week, and working on my masters. Eventually, also having recently moved back home to my parents’ place, I also cut out the daily biking because I lived much further from work.

Living at home has in general had a major effect on my caloric intake– not only am I eating more, but the constant availability of a car and the extra distance to bike anywhere (we live in the suburbs of Montreal) meant more food going in than I was burning through exercise.

Before the cruise, I was weighing close to 170 pounds. By the end of the cruise, I was a solid 173 pounds.

I’m getting back into things though– in the last two weeks I’ve managed to lose about 10 pounds. I didn’t go on any crazy diets. I just ate more within my needs and started exercising more consistently. I don’t think I’ll be able to drop much more than I have, because, frankly, being at home restricts my ability to decide what I want to eat, and it also affects my exercise habits– but it’s a decent start I think.

Right now, at 163-165 pounds, I still have a lot of work to do I think. I think that compared to my best conditions, my cardio gets a C+ score, flexibility gets an F, musclular endurance gets a C+, muscular strength gets about B-, impact/damage resistance gets an F, joint conditions get a C, body composition gets a D, and mental toughness is a C. Overal, they’re pretty bad scores. I think that if I brought all those grades to a solid B, I’d probably weigh between 150 and 160 pounds.

