Androids

by Jinryu

A couple of weeks ago, I traded in my HTC Dream for an HTC Magic.  I think my original review of the system still applies.  The dream was running Android 1.5, which, as far as most of you Android users in the US are concerned, is terribly obsolete.  But it’s one of the better OSes that I’ve used in execution, in comparison to 2010 mobile OSes I’ve used (Sony Ericsson’s GUI, Symbian, and Windows Mobile).  No, I’ve never really tried the iPhone for more than a few minutes.

So there are a few thoughts that come up with the changes lately. One of them is that the HTC Magic is way better than the HTC Dream– the Magic in Montreal is still running Android 1.5, but at least it has the HTC’s Sense UI upgrade on top of 1.5.  This adds a bunch of missing features, most notably multi-touch abilities like ‘pinching.’

I don’t know how I end up in these camps constantly, but I do a fair number of things that put me in a tech savy demographic of the world.  It’s not that I’m a coder, or a hacker, or someone who upgrades parts of his computer every time a new piece comes out.  But I do pay attention to my electronics, and I get the most out of them because to me, otpimization and efficiency is half of the fun.  I use an Android phone, I run Linux, I run dual screens on my main setup, I have a media server patched through my Xbox, I have subscriptions to techology and science feeds… what kind of person does that make me?

You’d think that that would make me a geek, or something. I think I am.

However, the rest of the world is coming around– so while this might have something to be derisve about in the past, today, they’re considered skills or at the very least, an element of solvency in an increasingly tech saturated work environment.

It is, simply, one of hobbies that turned out to be having really good returns in my everyday life.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-

But on that note, it’s not just that I’m open to the idea of technology changing our lives.  I think that the misconception is that technology is something that alienates us from our humanity.  It is a tool.

Technology doesn’t alienate people– people alienate people.

