insert coin

by Jinryu

In case you were wondering, here is the ad that I posted up on Craigslist a couple of weeks ago that brought [Supergirl] and I into knowledge of eachothers’ existences.  It was more of an exercise in introspection than anything else– I mean, if you had to somehow peresent yourself, sell yourself, in the span of a text that can’t be so short that it says nothing useful and that can’t be so long that they get tired of reading, how do you do that?  How do you buy yourself that first chance, word per word?

It was actually [DaVinci] who saw my ad first, and she’s the one who pointed it out to [Supergirl].  As much as I never post on Craigslist unless I’m trying to buy or sell a bicycle or a cellphone, [Supergirl] never reads personals ads either.  I never really expected to meet anyone like [Supergirl] but in the end, I’m glad that it happened.


So, just for a bit of history: I went to a good high school, did pretty well out there. Was very involved in community things. Didn’t excel at sports, but did pick up a lot of little things. Played some vball, handball and badminton. Started kickboxing along the way. Played darts. Joined the chess club. Played in the high school band. Traveled across Canada and the US on competitions.

Went to college. Followed the family’s ideas of trying to be an engineer, and decided by the time I got to univeristy that it wasn’t the path for me. Studied in various fields, worked as a TA, finished a BA. Went to Ottawa to teach the government about public transportation. Coached. Tutored. Rode a bike 100km in the rain.

All the time, worked in public service fields like libraries, schools and hospitals, because community related work, I’ve found, is my thing.

After graduating, decided to spend a year overseas to change my outlook on life, and see if things could be any different– and got to see how different things could be, really! Fell in love with karaoke, Korean movies, and Indian food. Learned to play a guitar like Jim Carrey in “Yes Man”. Broke a hotel’s neon sign by accident while playing golf off a rooftop at 2AM. Spent a night sleeping on the streets half a world away from home because I couldn’t read foreign train signs properly. Almost was swept to sea by the rising tide during an exploration of a lighthouse island. Learned a new language thanks to a class full of 10 year olds. Slept in a haunted hotel. Etc, etc, etc, yadda yadda yadda, y’know?

I’m pretty ordinary, all things considered– a jack of all trades, a master of nothing. Good for conversation, for laughs, for dependability, honesty– a package deal, and I’m proud of it.

I’m back in Montreal now. I’ve got a respectable job which I enjoy, I’ve got friends who I’m getting to meet all over again, and a city to rediscover. Life is good. I really can’t complain.

What am I looking for?

I’m looking for someone to go on a date with. I work in a hospital and my worklife and social life took up a lot of time to get back in gear since I returned. It’s that simple: I’m here because I’m trying to shake things up a bit, and there’s no harm in trying.

I won’t lie– I want a relationship, but lets not put too much pressure on it. Lets start with coffee, dinner, whatever– at the very least, it’s good for shits and giggles. I really suck at introductions and I might be a bit awkward at first, but I’d appreciate any opportunities.

Conditions? Criteria? You’re around my age level– I’m 26, so plus or minus a few is okay. You don’t need to be a supermodel, but you must respect your body and that means that you understand that you need to do things in moderation.

I’m Montreal born Chinese– so if you’re Asian, and you’re looking for someone who ‘gets’ the whole idea of an Asian upbringing, well hello! On the other hand, if you’re not Asian, that doesn’t matter either– it really doesn’t matter to me, and I’m actually very happy as someone who is at once an anglo-franco montrealer and a canto chinese, along with some bonus korean language support.

You don’t need to be a doctor or an engineer or the prom queen– you just need to know who you are, and be able to hold a decent conversation. You may very well be perfect, but I’m not, so in fairness lets just start with no expectations.

You can be boring, you can be exciting, you can be confident or shy– be yourself anand hopefully that’s good enough. I can be boring, I can be exciting, I can be confident or shy– I will be myself, and if it goes well, I’ll try to be more, just for you.

The lack of requirements doesn’t make me desperate– I think I’ve just seen enough of the world to know that everyone is worthwhile in some way, and I that sometimes what makes you happy isn’t necessarily what you wanted or expected.

Drop a line; even if you’re just looking for a penpal or a buddy to go eat out with, we’ll take it fromwherever it starts.

