The Audacity

by Jinryu

I started listening to the audiobook version of Barack’s book, curious as to how it compared to the book book version of the book, and my first impression was that he’s a terrible reader.  I mean, he can read, but can he read?  My answer is no.  But his voice kinda grows on you.

This phenomenon is mutually exclusive from the actual content of the book, mind you.  The book actually starts off pretty boring.  It’s preachy and without substance.  I recognize the style– it’s the way that I would fluff my essays with sweeping generalizations back when I was in English Lit– but I’m not certain that it’s a bad thing.  I mean, I was a lofty idealist back then, and that’s why I wrote my essays the way I did.  Perhaps that’s what I have in common with Barack– that hopefullness.


In a strange way, that’s the feeling I’m getting from this book.  That there’s a lot of buzzwords and a lot of hope, but I don’t think that he necessarily knows how to do what he wants to get done.  But that’s okay– the feeling I get is that he wants to try his best, and, well, that’s good enough for me.

Perhaps I’d be more suspicious if the way he read made me felt too wowed.

The book is surprisingly a lot less about Barack than it is about America, if you believe his retelling of it’s political history.


Fundamentally, I think that’s one thing that people who are unhappy is missing– hope.  It’s apparently audacious nowadays.  If you have some sort of lofty ideal, you look like an idiot– you’re just being loud and unrealistic.

Is it really?  Audacious?

Well if it is, then to hell with it all– let’s blow this joint.


I was thinking about two couples that I know.  One of them, I’ve known them since 2004, and they’d started going out even before that.  But their relationship has stagnated– I see it now as convenience and as routine, and I’ve heard that that’s the way they look at it too.  Their lives, however, are so entwined in eachothers’ that the likelihood of a breaksup seems impossible.

Is it that they have no hope to live happy lives without eachother, even though it looks like they’re unhappy now?

How much unhappiness does it take to warrant risking more unhappiness for happiness?

On the other hand, I know another couple who got together for the first time three or four years ago, and they’re now recently engaged. They seem happy.  And it took them a lot of risks to get where they are.

And, on another hand, I know plenty of single people who did take risks and have yet to really get any returns.  They get beaten and bruised and nobody can tell these people that ‘it was worth it,’ because they’d simply ask for the proof.


