Where do you want to go today?

by Jinryu

Time: 3:09AM
Batteries: 67% (Not great)
Morale: 🙂

Back on night shifts, for today and tomorrow. It’s always really tough the first overnight– that’s when you really haven’t been able to sleep enough yet (because it’s hard to sleep when you’re not tired yet) and you’re really pushing yourself to stay awake when your body normally wants to be going to be bed.

I haven’t really said much since I moved to the new place, and I’m not sure where to start– there is, in fact, a lot to say, but I’m so caught up in it all it’s difficult to find the time or way to say it all.

Well, I think the easiest way of putting it is in terms of a role playing game.  In it, there are playable characters (PCs), non-playable characters (NPCs), there are primary missions, and there are sidequests.

I think what I’m getting at is that for this chapter, I’ve really completed a crapload of sidequests and I’m back onto the main story arc of my life now.

Lets have a quick breakdown at the various sidequests that have presented themselves and been solved in the past week alone:

Forgot my bicycle lock at the apartment, and only realized when I arrived at work.  So, I bought a new one, which is also better than the cheap one I was previously using.  This also solves a much older incomplete sidequest of “Get a Good Bicycle Lock” which I thought would have been solved by [Sunshineacid], but despite numerous requests, I just haven’t been able to get the damn thing back from her because she keeps on forgetting to bring it whenever she visits from Hull. [Jinryu got the OnGuard Lock!]

Needed to outfit my bike for rainy conditions, because I’ve made it a resolution to not use a buspass for all of summer and fall.  At first this was thwarted by a bike shop less than a kilometer from my apartment in NDG– they wanted to charge me 25$ for the splash guards, plus another 25$ for installation labor.  I basically told them to go fuck themselves, then found another shop in Old Montreal that charged me some spare change over 10$ for the splash guards with free installation. [Jinryu got Splash Guards!]

A couple of days ago, I lost my glasses.  They’re the third pair of perscription glasses that I own– the first pair I lost while on a date over a year ago, the second pair I broke in a bookstore when it got caught on my satchel, and this third pair? Well, it turns out I forgot them in this awesome Indian restaurant on Jean-Talon called Bombay Mahal.  After eliminating all other possibilities, I gave the restaurant a call (it just so happened that I took their business card the last time I ate there, mostly because  was fascinated that their cards were so sturdy they could be used as throwing weapons) and to my delight, they had them.  So, I went and picked them up, even though the restaurant is pretty far away from my placv.  [Jinryu got back the Orange Glasses!]

Quynh and Ly helped me with some final FINAL moving, so the apartment now has my couches [Jinryu got the couches!] and a bigger bed [Bed Level Up!].

I got a flat tire with my bike the other day, so I had the inner tube replaced.  [Bike HP restored!]

I’ve also realized that accepting the 0.4 Night Position (that’s the technical term to describe that I get 4 guaranteed shifts every 2 weeks) has realyl worked out in my favor in terms.  If four shifts every two weeks doesn’t sound like much at all, that’s because it isn’t– but having a 0.4 position puts me on a completely differnent food chain as a ‘PPT,’ a ‘permanant part timer’ which has more priority for shifts than someone working as a ‘TPT’ (temporary part timer) or those workning simply as availablilty (who are essentially ‘bouche-trous’).  While I’m not a full timer, which means that I don’t get the full guaranteed five shifts per week, I do seem to be pulling in between 3-5 shifts per week which is just perfect for me for summertime.

To be honest, after working over 60 hours a week,

etc etc etc

I guess what I’m getting at is that in the grand metaphor of things, I’ve got my prerequisites covered and I’m really moving onto the next chapter.

Normally, it feels as if life is dictating the conditions for success– you want this or that, and in order to get there, you need to do this, this and this first.  Sometimes, you just run into random problems that need to be solved.

Well, I guess the interesting thing about where I am now is that for the first time since I can remember, I have nothing left to really solve as far as sidequests go.  There’s nothing in particular that I need to get out of the way.  At this point, I’m really free to just decide where I want to go next.

It’s a strange and foreign feeling to be where I am right now.

