Do you bottle up anger, or do you let it out, and how?

by Jinryu

I don’t think I’m boasting when I say that I have a pretty high tolerance for things.  Yet, I wouldn’t say that I bottle it up.  There’s scientific explanation for why– something about how allowing yourself to get angry releases a chemical in your blood that increases your metabolism and gets you geared for ass kicking (higher pain tolerance, possibly higher muscular functions), but, at the same time, reduces the ability to think rationally.

The first thing I do when something perhaps could make me angry is that I try to reason it out.  If I can find the slightest reason to justify what’s happing that’s making me angry, I can generally let the negative energy pass right through me.  This means that even the most bitchy of lectures by anyone, I can empathize with their point of view, either by agreeing with them on some level or simply writing it off as some flaw of their personality that is simply manifesting.  Many times, when someone gets pissed at me and is in a situation where I would be expected to get angry, it has nothing to do with me at all– it has to do with the initiator’s insecurities.   When I start treating anger as a symptom of other issues rather than the main problem iteslf, it becomes easier to just ignore all the formalities (the swearing, the physical body language, the volume of voices) and just think about how to work on the core of the person’s problem.

Well, maybe I am full of myself.  My basic premise for seldom getting angry is that “usually, they’re wrong so I have nothing to worry about”.

I mean, sure I get frustrated… But I guess this is to say that I don’t get angry on account of someone getting angry at me, because I’m seldom wrong πŸ˜›  I mean, I can be, but no reason to get angry, right?

And if all else fails, there’s always blogging or phsyical activities to let off some steam πŸ˜‰

I just answered this Featured Question, you can answer it too!

